The True Essence Of Personal Motivation

Noah Merriby
13 min readOct 29, 2019

I want you to yourself a question right now, what motivates you? Now often times when I ask people this question, they look away, they start wondering, and most of the times their answer is: “I don’t know.”

So then I change the question, and I want you to ask yourself this question as well. When you wake up in the morning, why do you get out of bed? That’s way easier to answer isn’t it? Some people say it’s because they have to go to work, others say it’s because they have class to attend… Rarely do I ever hear someone saying, it’s because I have goals I want to achieve.

Prakhar Verma, in his article on negative thinking, mentioned that according to the National Science Foundation, an average person has about 12,000 to 60,000 thoughts per day. Of those, 80% are negative and 95% are repetitive thoughts.

The results of this research alone, can stand as a solid example, as to why we lose our motivation pretty often.

Understanding the chronological foundation of the human brain is necessary, if you wish to understand your sense of motivation better. Let me ask you another question here, and take a second to answer it before you keep reading. When you meet someone, and you want them to get to know you better, do you talk to them about your past experiences, or future goals? And reciprocally, when you want…

--

--

Noah Merriby

Best-Selling Author, Mentor, and Passionate Instructor who taught more than 100,000 students.